Beneath are a few of the newest state updates –
The State of California has up to date the next:
- Based on a Notice issued by the Los Angeles Workplace of Wage Requirements on February 1, 2022, the town’s hourly minimal wage will rise from $15.00 to $16.04 as of July 1, 2022.
- Supplemental paid sick go away is now offered to lined workers underneath Senate Bill No. 114. Such workers have to be unable to work, in particular person or remotely, for causes associated to COVID-19. The paid sick go away can be retroactive from January 1, 2022 till September 30, 2022. The identical provisions apply to sure in-home supportive service suppliers and waiver private care service suppliers who’re unable to work for any such causes. Please see Beverly Alfon’s article for extra info.
- The California State Division of Honest Employment and Housing revised its regulations implementing the California Household Rights Act to align with beforehand enacted statutory modifications by together with “parent-in-law” within the definition of “dad or mum.” References to the repealed New Mother or father Depart Act have additionally been eliminated.
The Cook dinner County Fee on Human Rights issued the next discover to employers:
As of January 1, 2022, the Cook dinner County Minimal Wage Ordinance (MWO) has been up to date as utilized to tipped staff in Cook dinner County municipalities that haven’t opted-out from the protection of the MWO. These lined by the MWO embrace workers:
- Who’ve labored for an employer in Cook dinner County for at the very least two (2) hours in any two-week interval;
- Whose employer has at the very least 4 (4) workers (until the worker is a home employee); and
- Whose employer (i) maintains a enterprise facility in Cook dinner County or (ii) is licensed to do enterprise by Cook dinner County.
Based on the MWO, the minimal wage for non-tipped staff is now $13.00 and $7.20 for tipped staff. Minors will not be lined underneath the MWO and have to be paid the State’s minimal wage for staff underneath 18 years of age.
As of February 2, 2022, medical marijuana has been legalized within the State of Mississippi. Employers will not be required to allow, enable or accommodate using medical marijuana and should take disciplinary actions towards those that violate drug insurance policies, no matter eligibility. Within the meantime, dispensaries will not be anticipated to be open for one more six (6) months.
The Mississippi Medical Hashish Act is promulgated in Senate Bill 2095.
The New York State Division of Labor issued the next poster:
Part 740 of the Labor Regulation comprises a number of prohibitions towards retaliatory motion taken by employers. This poster is a restatement of the statute, which offers that workers who’ve skilled retaliation might search aid in civil courtroom inside two (2) years of the alleged motion.
Employers are prohibited from taking any retaliatory motion towards an worker who (a) discloses, or threatens to confide in a supervisor or to a public physique a sure exercise, coverage or follow of the employer that the worker moderately believes is in violation of legislation, rule or regulation or that the worker moderately believes poses a considerable and particular hazard to the general public well being or security; (b) offers info to, or testifies earlier than, any public physique conducting an investigation, listening to or inquiry into any such exercise, coverage or follow by such employer; or (c) objects to or refuses to take part in any such exercise, coverage or follow.
The poster have to be posted conspicuously, in simply accessible and well-lit areas which can be usually frequented by workers and candidates for employment.